Thoughts and memories of living and traveling abroad

Windmill Expedition

Even before we moved to The Netherlands I’ve wanted to see some windmills as I feel it’s a true representation of Holland. So on my birthday Heath and I took a train to the village of Zaanse Schans in North Holland to see some real, working windmills (and some people that actually wear wooden shoes!).

Currently, there is construction on the bridge to the village so once you get off the train you have to take a short ferry there. 

ferry

A short walk from the ferry and you’re in the village. As you can see below, it’s just beautiful!

reflection

all in a row

huh?

daff

windmill

We decided to start at De Kraai (The Crow) pancake restaurant. 

crow

nee vlees

pancackes

Even though they had fountain soda (which is a rarity here) I still think Sara’s Pancake House was much better. I learned on this trip that maple syrup does not exist here!

After we choked down our breakfast we went to the wooden shoe workshop. 

workshop

Here are two videos showing a part of the process:

Part I

Part II

I didn’t realize there were so many different kinds of wood shoes. I also learned that rounded ends are typically for men and pointed ones for women. 

Check out this one – the bottoms are worn out!

worn out

Look at the detail on this one!

intricate

Anyone want to go roller skating?

rollin

france?

all in a row

All the workers wear wood shoes… ouch

ouch

Want to make your own pair?

steps

Of course we had to try on a pair!

too big
way too big

We got some delicious Gouda cheese and this awesome mustard that is made in one of the windmills. 

cheesy

lots o cheese

which way

Now if this photo doesn’t scream Holland, I don’t know what does!

holland

dsc04410

This cute Border Collie was in the front yard of one of the houses.

doggie

The Albert Heijn is the Publix of Holland. The first Albert Heijn is here at Zaanse Schans. Heath thinks I’m ridiculous but I was really excited about it. Ha!

albert hein

albert internal

koffie

clogs

All in all it was a great birthday! The weather was perfect and the scenery beautiful. I hope I can share this trip with you when you come visit! 🙂

tulips

3 responses

  1. What you two are doing is very cool. Thanks for keeping my memories alive!

    Daniel

    April 26, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    • mediawhit

      Thanks for following! More to come this week. 🙂

      April 26, 2009 at 7:25 pm

  2. Tony

    Wooden shoes that fit Heath?? WOW! Tony

    April 19, 2009 at 6:56 pm

Leave a Reply

